To comply with GDPR rules and privacy concerns, if a student has not logged into the Student Materials Portal for 2 years, we will "anonymize" their data at the end of the calendar year. This means that Berlitz will remove all personal identifying information (e.g., name, email address, etc.) and retain the usage data for research purposes. Usage data means the Online Practice answers created, whether they used notes in the Student Guide, and what their course/learning path was.
For example, Ana Olsen took English Levels 1-3 with Berlitz from June 2017 to June 2018. She has not returned to log into the Student Materials Portal since her last lesson. As of June 2020, Ana's account is marked for anonmymization at the end of the year. Assuming she does not log back in before December 31, 2020, Ana Olsen's identifying information will be replaced with random characters on Dec. 31, 2020.